I haven’t quit writing

I’ve been doing some things IRL lately that have not given me much time to blog.

We’re rebuilding the front porch stairs, I had jury duty on Monday, and I’m reading other books. Message board dudes, I do not know how you managed to fill ten threads about Prince of Nothing. I really don’t care how women are being portrayed, because I have not managed to care about how anyone or anything in the books is being portrayed. I’m halfway through book 3. I don’t dislike the writing and I don’t dislike the story – I have no intention of quitting… I just don’t care very much; I’m not very interested in finding out what happens.

I also find it depressing to do the book review – not even particularly because of Christianity or my non-belief in it, but because I don’t know where my relationship with my father can proceed from here. I’m not concerned about horrendous consequences. We’re not going to disown each other, throw things at each other, or anything so antagonistic. Most likely we will simply have to acknowledge that we believe differently and talk about sports. I just have the feeling like – is that it? I don’t want to make the topic off-limits, but I don’t intend to spend the rest of my life reading about religion.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but it struck me that I was “saved” at the age of four. It’s disputable how freely I could have made a choice like that at such a young age. But no Christian ever questioned the experience. Having been born and raised in a Christian environment, it was a natural state of affairs. I understand why my parents don’t want me to leave Christianity, but it’s still a bit surprising that the way out is so much more convoluted than the way in. Claiming that I believed was enough for acceptance by the church. I could have continued on with no real knowledge about evolution, philosophy or other beliefs/religions, and no one would have considered me less a Christian. Even Christians who value education do not challenge others claims to Christianity for being completely satisfied with the Bible and what they believe to be the Holy Spirit. But apparently claiming that I don’t believe is something that I have to defend. Geisler and Turek heap scorn on the willful or shallow atheist. It’s a double standard that they don’t show the same disdain toward the Christian who takes everything on faith and internal evidence. On page 31, they ask if someone could provide reasonable answers to the most significant questions and objections you have about Christianity… would you then become a Christian? If your honest answer is no, then your resistance to Christianity is emotional or volitional. Would they be willing to turn that around and claim that if reasonable answers were given regarding materialism were given, or if unanswerable objections to Christianity were made, they would stop believing? Would they tell the Christian who would continue on faith that their belief was emotional?

Leave a Reply

