I don’t have enough TIME to be an atheist

I need to spend some time doing things that I like doing and some things that I need to be doing.

Still studying for an actuarial exam (August). Still building the stairs to the deck and then replacing some deck boards. Still reading and writing, just not right now. Still running slowly.

I went to a running group thing tonight and was reminded why I have to force myself to do things with new groups. There wasn’t anything that went wrong, it just takes a while to get to know people. And I’m humiliatingly slow right now. Once the big bruise that I have from soccer heals up, it’ll be a little better, because right now I can feel it whenever I land hard or am going downhill.

I finished The Thousandfold Thought, and all I can say is that I don’t understand why so many people like it so much. It wasn’t awful, but with each book, I became less and less interested in what was going to happen next. I hope the Consult wins. That’s the problem though, what can really happen? Probably the Consult won’t win. Kellhus can accomplish all the stuff he wants, but if he stays just the same, that won’t be very interesting since his manipulations are pretty transparent and are mostly descriptions of how everyone is fawning over him and hanging onto his every word. OTOH though, if he becomes sympathetic and non-sociopathic, I’m going to be really annoyed and eat the book. (I also may have said that I was going to eat the book in ASOIAF if Jon Snow was the PWWP, I probably should not promise to eat any more books based on disappointment because these are really long books). And I can’t imagine the rest of the story not centering around Kellhus, so those are probably the two options. I don’t know what I’m rambling about anymore.

Leave a Reply

